Favourite Finds: Fuel Trunk

We’ve been after a big box to store fuel for the wood burner for a while but sadly the charity shop gods had not been smiling on us.

So James had a look on eBay just last night and miraculously there was the perfect metal trunk, on for a “buy it now” price of £20. And it was in Cottenham, just outside Cambridge. Five minutes later, having measured the space up, it was ours and this morning while I was out rowing James went and picked it up.

image

image

What’s good about it is that it has not only neatened that part of the living room it also provides a handy seat. Very useful indeed. We might paint it but we kind of like the battered look with chips of old paint!

Categories: My Favourite Finds | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Favourite Finds: Fuel Trunk

  1. Ivor Thomas

    Try Briwax

  2. Kath

    This was such a good idea that I have copied it. I trawled the antique shops in Matlock and found just the perfect sized tin trunk. It did fit where I wanted it to but I couldn’t quite take out the ash pan so I have had to move the legs on my sofa bed over a smidge. My box has Lieutenant somebody or other’s name stencilled all over it and something presumably the boat name blacked out …

    So much neater than the coal scuttles etc I had before – thanks for the idea

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

