Broccoli, Kale, Bacon and Blue Cheese soup

or how to use up what’s in your veg box!

After going away for much of Easter, I’d got behind with my veg and had a lot of greens to use up. So I made a vat of this soup, imagining it would last a week for my lunches. But James and I wolfed most of it down on Sunday night, so there wasn’t much left for lunches!

Ingredients

Olive Oil

2 medium onions

2 medium potatoes, peeled

Vegetable stock

Broccoli (about a cereal bowl full once destalked – I used the purple stuff)

Kale (about a small cereal bowl full once destalked)

A large chunk (about 100-200g) of blue cheese, in this case some Blacksticks blue

Smoked bacon (I used about 4 rashers, roughly chopped)

Method

Chop the onions and cook them gently in olive oil until they are soft and translucent. Add the chopped, peeled potatoes and enough vegetable stock to cover them. Whilst they are cooking, chop the broccoli and kale to add later. Once the potatoes are soft, crumble up the blue cheese and add it, stirring until it’s all melted in (I used my potato masher to break the potatoes down a bit at this stage). Then, very last of all, add the chopped greens.  A bit more water/stock may be needed to get the right consistency. Quickly fry up the chopped bacon in a separate pan until its brown and a bit crispy. Once the bacon’s done, the greens will be too. You could fry and add the bacon at the beginning, with the onions, but I wanted to put it on top, kind of like a tasty garnish. I then blended the soup in the pan using my ancient trusty £5 stick blender, running off the medium sized inverter in the kitchen. but it would be fine unblended, just a bit less creamy. Serve with crusty bread and the bacon on top of the soup.

As I used purple broccoli it ended up a very strange colour, but I think with normal broccoli it would be a bit more green and less “green and lavender” coloured!

2015-04-12 19.36.29 2015-04-12 20.15.02

Categories: Daily Life | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Broccoli, Kale, Bacon and Blue Cheese soup

  1. That looks yummy…I think I have some vegan blue cheese in the freezer…

    ~Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

